Define user and group rights
To configure the access permissions, select Administration→ Group Templates or Administration→ Users.
- Highlight a group template or one or more users (left arrow in illus.).
- Then select Settings→ Edit in the context menu (right arrow in illus).
Access rights or file options of the mobile devices (Devices)
You can make the following options available to your users for editing files (those located on the company drives they’re able to access):
A Tusted Device is a device that is recognised by the Cortado server. That is a device with native Workplace app.
Here you can set which of the Workplace app options will be made available to users. For this purpose, make sure that under Settings, access for the used device groups is enabled.
The following settings can be made for Trusted Devices:
Note! If you want to absolutely deny your users access to the company drives and the linked file options, clear the Display Home Drive checkbox.
- Share files as e-mail attachment: Allows the sharing of files by e-mail.
- Public links: Allows the user to create a link to the file and then share this link with internal and external users. Cortado Server automatically creates a copy of the file on the proxy server in the DMZ. The corporate network with the original file remains inaccessible from outside the company. The user can specify how long the link is to be valid for (maximum: 30 days).
- Projects: You can let your users create projects here. That allows them to share files with internal and external users in virtual data rooms (On-Premises File Sharing). The Sharing technology enables simple, secure, data-friendly file sharing – even with those outside the company. If an external recipient is addressed, Cortado server automatically creates a copy of the file on the proxy server in the DMZ. The corporate network with the original file remains inaccessible from outside the company. With External Projects you can allow users to share files externally. You can make further settings to enable Sharing under Settings→ Sharing.
Note! To enable files to be shared with recipients outside the organization, a special license is required for each external user.
- Delete files: Allows deleting of files on the company server (see illus.).
- Upload files: Allows the uploading of files from mobile device to the Cortado server. Please note, that if you eliminate this option for users, they can no longer save e-mails or e-mail attachments on the company server. Furthermore, the users can neither print nor fax files stored only on the mobile device. The file will first need to be uploaded onto the server.
- Download files: Allows the downloading of files from the Cortado server. If the option Force download as PDF is enabled, downloaded files will only be displayed in PDF format. Files such as .txt or .zip files, won’t be downloaded.
- Preview: Allows a preview of a file to be created (see illus.).
- Force Authentic Preview for iOS: If there is a problem displaying previews of PDF and PPT files (for instance because of their size), then Authentic Preview can be set for the users by default. Then the users no longer have to individually enable Authentic Preview on their iOS devices. This setting can’t be changed by users. Authentic Preview generates an image of the data, rather than the native preview. This will save on data volume. On the other hand, it’s no longer possible to copy anything out of the file.
- Export files: Allows exporting files in ZIP or in PDF format (see illus.).
- Fax: By removing this checkmark, you prevent the users from sending files via fax. The fax option is only available for iOS devices.
- Printing: By removing this checkmark, you prevent the users from printing files.
- Network printing: By removing this checkmark, you deny users access to the network printers (see the section Printing to network printers).
- Native Android printing: By removing this checkmark, you deny user access to the network printers in all Android apps that offer a printing option (see the section Native Android printing).
- Native iOS printing: By removing this checkmark, you deny user access to the network printers in all iOS apps that offer a printing option (see the section Native iOS printing).
- Wi-Fi printing: By removing this checkmark, you block users from searching for printers in the Wi-Fi network (see the section Wireless printing ).
- Enterprise search (iOS only): With this option, users search files in directories that have been shared in the corporate network. By removing this checkmark, you prevent users from using the enterprise search function in the Workplace app.
Here you can set which access options your users will be allowed in the web app (web access from a PC/Mac). For this purpose, make sure that under Settings the web app is enabled.
The same settings can be made for Untrusted Devices as for Trusted Devices, with the exception of the functions which are not available for mobile devices::
- Native Android printing
- Native iOS printing
- Wi-Fi printing